Workshop

On September 17th,  I attended a lecture by Dr. Peter Rothbart who is a teacher at Ithica College. He shared some interesting points about music, and how it influences the person watching the video. Music can drastically change the viewer’s perceptions about the piece their watching, and can influence their emotions if used correctly. The best way to make the viewers emotion trigger, is to give emotion through the music.

Film music can be used to enhance the cycological state of mind, having music reflect thoughts. Source music is music that is part of the scenery, being music that the actors are hearing, not just the audience. Some examples of this kind of music are when the actors walk into a bar and music is coming from the band, or music that is coming from the radio in a scene. Music can also be used as a sound effect. Mickey Mousing is when the music is directly on beat with an action that is performed. For example, when a character takes a step or starts running, every step is directly on sync with the character, giving the scene comedy.

In this presentation I gained a better sense of what music does to the viewer, and how much of a necessity it is to have in a piece. One of my favorite parts of the lecture was a type of music called the counterpoint draw. This is used in extremely violent scenes, where they play peaceful music, and this gives the scene a more tragic and sad feeling. It strikes an emotional chord with the viewer and makes the viewer pity what is happening, and leaves you in awe.

He taught me that as an animator, I need to learn what my strengths and weakness are, and once I know what they are, I need to find someone else to do the job for me. Not very many people can do everything in animation, so you need to find people who can do the jobs you can’t, and get the work done making it a successful piece. Steven Spielberg is an example of this, asking John Williams to help do the job. He taught me in the importance of music and taught me more about how to use in. In the future when I am putting animations together or doing sound, I will have a better understanding of what music I should use and where I should put it.

This entry was posted in Lectures & Workshops, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

